Book Review: Candy

Candy by Kevin Brooks - Paperback Cover

Candy by Kevin Brooks – Paperback, 357 pages – Published 2006 by Chicken House

… a story as sharp as the title is sweet …

When I found this book in the library, I had never heard of it before. I had no idea what to expect, or how good the author – Kevin Brooks – is. At first I wasn’t certain how I was feeling about Candy, but a few pages in and I must admit I was hooked.

This is not a typical book about boys and girls, love and loss. This is a book about real-life problems that nobody wants to admit are drifting around this world. This is a book about facing the facts and doing what’s right, no matter how hard it may be. This is a book about a boy, and it is a book about a girl, but it’s also a book about the devastating world hidden within the city of London, the darker face behind all the wonderful things many of us associate with the capital of England.

Joe Beck is normal. He’s plain – and so is his life. That is, until he meets Candy – Candy with the eyes and the skin and the legs… Candy turns Joe’s life completely upside down. He’s faced with dilemmas that he’d never even considered before, dilemmas that people are facing every day while we’re watching TV or going out with friends. This novel really drives home the reality of drug addiction, prostitution and abuse, leaving you shocked and scared with every chapter.

I actually loved this book more than I expected. I was happy, excited, scared, sad… There were so many twists that I was always anticipating what was on the next page. Candy deserves 4 stars in my opinion. I’ll be sure to check out some of Kevin Brooks’ other works!

BookMarked

One comment

Leave a Reply

