Book Review: The One

20572939

The One by Kiera Cass (Selection #3) – Paperback, 323 pages – Published June 5th 2014 by HarperCollins Children’s Books

The One is the third book in the Selection series by Kiera Cass, following The Selection and The Elite.

Again, it tells the story of America Singer, an Elite, and Maxon Schreave, the heir to the throne.

On top of the Selection, the inhabitants of the palace also have to face the Northern and Southern rebels. One group is harmless, but the other… wants the royal family gone.

America isn’t the king’s favourite girl in the Selection, but once the people of Illéa catch a glimpse of her fighting spirit, they soon fall in love with her. Little do they know, she’s joining forces with the rebels, and little does she know that it runs in the family.

Although I’m not much into romance novels, I really do enjoy this series. I find each book so easy to read, and I love all the different aspects thrown in. The only thing about The One is that there are so many deaths, and they seem almost rushed. The first few tragedies are really touching, but then the crisis at the end – and the loss of such massive members of the royal family – just didn’t have as much detail and emotion as I would have expected.

I’m not going to lie, I also got a bit tired of Maxon and America’s constant fall-outs and arguments. Yes, it added another dimension to the story, but it was essentially just the same thing over and over.

America also has a moment of total desperation in this book, where she just goes way too over the top trying to win Maxon over. I just didn’t like it. But the relationship that developed amongst the Elite was nice, though I doubt it would happen quite so smoothly in real life. If a bunch of girls were fighting over a guy, let alone a prince, I’m pretty sure it would involve a little more bickering, even at the end.

Anyway, I did like this book, and it might actually be my favourite out of this series. I flew through it with no trouble, and can forgive the faults I found. Like the rest of this series, I’m giving The One 4 stars. I hope to read the next book, The Heir, soon!

BookMarked

One comment

Leave a Reply

