Book Review: Wreck and Order

I received an advanced reader’s copy of this book from Blogging for Books in return for my honest review. I downloaded the book via NetGalley.

Screenshot_2016-01-05-19-16-32~2

Wreck and Order by Hannah Tennant-Moore – Advanced Reader’s eBook – Expected publication: February 9th 2016 by Hogarth

I started this book nearly a month ago – a month! It definitely isn’t the kind of book I would usually go for, but hey, it’s good to try something new.

This is definitely an honest book. Elsie, having grown up on her father’s money, is trying to find happiness. She befriends Suriya in Sri Lanka, and even ties out the Buddhist monks’ way of life. But all she ever seems to think about is, quite honestly, sex. She connects everything that happens to her to some kind of sexual act or emotion achieved through a sexual relationship. Like I said, Wreck and Order is extremely honest. Perhaps a bit too honest at times.

Elsie is trying to find her place in the world. That is a great start for a book. But I just didn’t get into this – I wasn’t emotionally attached to Elsie at all, and I couldn’t really relate to her. I got more than a bit fed up of all the sexual references pretty early on.

It doesn’t even seem to be in chronological order. Okay, not all books are, but I just kept getting so lost in this! One minute she’s alone in Sri Lanka, the next she’s remembering her time with her kind-of-boyfriend, and then she’s comparing it all to her hellish time in Paris… I just could not keep up.

There was no real hook or plot in this novel either. Elsie goes here, she meets them, she does this. The end.

Speaking of the end, what is going on there?! I tried to turn to the next page repeatedly, not realising the book had even finished. A bit of a dead end in my opinion, rather disappointing.

I try not to say that I don’t like a book. I never stop reading part-way through. But I have struggled with both of these things with Wreck and Order. Perhaps it just isn’t my kind of novel. Perhaps it was a bit too sexual. Perhaps it just didn’t have a gripping storyline and lacked the development that readers love so much. I’m giving this 2.5 stars; the writing is very good in places, the idea is there, but it just doesn’t fit together quite right.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

