Month: January 2016

WWW Wednesdays

What am I currently reading?

Am I Normal Yet?, Wreck and Order, The Amazing Book is Not on Fire and The Fallen Star.

What did I finish reading recently?

The two books I’ve finished this week are The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Evergreen.

What am I reading next?

Okay, so now the new year has begun and I’m deciding to try something a little different. Basically, I’m going to give you guys the choice of what I read and review next. Remember, if there are any particular books you want reviewed or would like to recommend, you can always contact me.



12 Days of Blogging


  • Include the photo above in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!


Day 5: What is on your personal wish list this year:

Well, Christmas has already been, but I’ll write down what I wanted beforehand:

  • The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  • The Story of Alice
  • A giant teddy
  • Anything related to Alice in Wonderland
  • Marzipan
  • Lolita style skirts


As December has already ended, I’m not going to tag any other blogs to take part now. Sorry!


Book Review: Evergreen


Evergreen by Brenda Pandos (Mer Tales #2) – eBook, 282 pages – Published August 30th 2014 by Obsidian Mountain Publishing

Following EverblueEvergreen is the second novel in Brenda Pandos’ Mer Tales series. There are currently two more books in this series, Everlost and Evermore.

Fin – a merman – and Ash – a girl – are promised, and struggling to be apart from each other. Ash is at home in Tahoe, whilst Fin is with his parents in the safe house in Florida.

At the safe house, Fin meets the lost princess, Galadriel. She ran away from home, and has a number of boys attached to her. But who is her real mate? Where is he?

Desperate to get back to Ash, Fin decides to head back to Tahoe while his parents are away. Galadriel insists on tagging along, as her mate is apparently in that area as well. But when they arrive, they are met with more trouble than they expected…

And to top it all off, it turns out that maybe Prince Azor isn’t of royal blood at all. In fact, Ash isn’t even human…

Again, this is a very cheesy, romantic tale. Again, having the male as a mer is a nice touch, and the whole switch-up with the royal merlings was quite a shock. However, Pandos has a tendency to include a lot of questions in the form of the characters’ thoughts, rather than leave little details and possibilities up to the readers’ imagination. For example, having already hinted at the fact that Galadriel is promised, I really don’t think there’s any need for Fin to think to himself: Is she promised? Who to? This series isn’t really my cup of tea, but I still wouldn’t say it’s bad at all. There are a few grammatical mistakes, pieces of missing punctuation and the such, giving the book a sort of unprofessional, amateur feel. But the plots are pretty good, even if there wasn’t as much action in this sequel as I’d have liked. I think this book also deserves 3 stars out of 5, like Everblue.


Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Millenium #1) – Paperback, 542 pages – Published June 2015 by Quercus

I’ve finally finished it! Whoop whoop!

This is a very different book to what I usually read. It contains a lot of strong language, sexual references, assault and Swedish finance. It also has a lot of investigating, which was my favourite part.

A financial journalist, Mikael Blomkvist, has been accused of libel after submitting a report about a rival company, owned by Hans-Erik Wennerström. The Wennerström Affair is huge – and has earned Blomkvist a three month stay in prison. This was all a bit hard for me to follow, as I don’t know much about this subject. But I still managed to get the general gist of it.

A freelance worker at Milton Security is hired to research Mikael Blomkvist. Her name is Lisbeth Salander, and she’s only in her twenties. Even so, she’s probably the best worker Dragan Armansky has hired.

The client wanting a report on Blomkvist, Herr Frode, works for Henrik Vanger of the massive Vanger Corporation. Pleased with what they hear, they hire the journalist for a private matter – to solve the mystery of a missing girl from the 1960’s.

While Blomkvist is researching the suspected crime, Lisbeth Salander is molested and raped by her legal guardian. She should turn him into the police, but that isn’t her style. Instead, she gets her revenge.

Blomkvist finds out about the report written on him, and seeks out Salander. Together they begin to crack the case of Harriet Vanger. They are both put at risk when they discover the reason for Harriet’s disappearance, and nobody’s prepared for what they uncover.

Although the case is solved, the company Blomkvist works for – Millenium – needs revenge against Wennerström. To his surprise, Salander has just what he needs to really make a bang.

Like I said, this is quite an explicit novel – fathers raping their children, guardians attacking vulnerable young women, men sleeping with multiple women. The relationships seem to be ever-changing in this novel, but I suppose that’s just realistic. But this is definitely not suitable for the faint-hearted, and there are some really horrific, visual descriptions that really will haunt you.

But if you like investigative or crime novels, I would definitely suggest giving it a go. It’s not a quick read by any means, but it’s cunning, it’s realistic, and it’s gripping. What more could you want from a novel of this genre? I really wasn’t sure at first, as I just couldn’t get into the multiple characters’ stories or the whole situation with Mikael Blomkvist, but I did manage to get into the rhythm of it in the end, and really did enjoy it. For these reasons, I’m going to give Larsson’s novel 4 stars. I’m seriously hoping I come across the next books in the series now!