Book Review: The Divide

1190827

The Divide by Elizabeth Kay (The Divide #1) – Paperback, 320 pages – Published April 1st 2006 by Chicken House

I started reading this when I was about eleven, and I had really enjoyed it. It’s a bit of a kids’ book really, but I just wanted to see how it ended!

So Felix, who’s thirteen, has a debilitating heart condition. He and his parents visit Costa Rica, home of the Continental Divide. Nothing could prepare him for what happens after passing out across the Divide.

Suddenly, Felix is in a strange new world where myths are real and real life is fake. Humans aren’t supposed to be real – so when Felix arrives, people start going crazy. They want to find a way into his world, where they can see science in real life, and where they can have a fresh market for their magic.

Betony becomes Felix’s good friend, and along with her siblings and some other mythical creatures, they discover a japegrin who is selling untested magical remedies, causing side-affects in those who take them. They manage to spread the word about this, but he won’t go down without a fight.

Like I said, this is more a children’s book than a YA. I only really wanted to read it again because I was curious, and I seemed to enjoy it so much when I was younger. It’s not a bad book, but obviously it’s not one that teens are going to be raving about.

It’s cute, but has such a childish feel to it. I mean, wise-hoofs and ear-rot? Snakeweed the villain?! The general plot is pretty good, unlike any other book I’ve read. But I can’t say I’m going to be hunting down the rest of the series. 2.5 stars.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

