Book Review: The Boy Who Fell to Earth

15799188

The Boy Who Fell To Earth by Kathy Lette – Paperback, 400 pages – Published April 11th 2013 by Black Swan

This is another book I was lent by my teacher, so I previously had no idea it even existed. I’ve never even heard of the author, Kathy Lette, but I’m glad I know of her now!

Okay, it’s nearly midnight and I need to be up early so I’m going to have to keep this one rather short.

Lette writes from the point of view of Lucy, who’s son has been involved in a serious car accident. She recaps her time with him, telling us her story of love, loss and difficulty.

This novel is written in an honest voice, with sarcasm and humour on every page. It tells the tale of parenting, divorce, finding and losing love, and even coping with the world’s way of dealing with special needs. Like I said, it’s brutally honest and does not exclude any of the less favourable thoughts or feelings.

It is quite clear that this is aimed at an older generation of readers, but I must say that I did really enjoy it, far more than I anticipated. It isn’t a fantasy or an action novel, and it does have a slightly cheesy happy ending, but I do think a lot of people will be pleasantly surprised by how easy this is to read.

If I was a bit older I would probably adore this, but as it is I can’t say it’s quite a favourite of mine. But I’m definitely happy to have read it, so 4 stars.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

