Book Review: Specials

15058687

Specials by Scott Westerfeld (Uglies #3) – Paperback, 372 pages – Published May 1st 2012 by Simon & Schuster Children’s

Now I’ve got just one more Uglies book to go!

If you’ve read any of these books, then you’ll probably know that the title of this book is referencing Special Circumstances – a terrifying, elite group of pretties. After Shay turned up at the end of the last novel, things with Special Circumstances get rather interesting…

The tables have turned and Shay and Tally are working with Special Circumstances to bring down the New Smoke – along with David. But the New Smoke is far more advanced than they ever expected, and someone among their group has been planning to help develop a cure for Specials all along.

Dr Cable, the leader of the Specials, has big things in mind. In fact, she decides to start a war with Diego – the New Smoke. The first war since the Rusty days.

Tally’s boyfriend, Zane, is suffering the aftereffects of the cure he tested. Can the New Smoke help him? Is it worth the risk?

Again, Scott Westerfeld writes exactly like Tally would (I imagine, anyway) which can actually get kind of annoying as Tally is rather shallow at times. Yeah, this is due to all the mental meddling the city does, but it still gets on my nerves occasionally. And I understand that Tally isn’t the same now that she is a Special, but I feel like she should have had a more emotional reaction after what happens with Zane in Diego. (I’m trying not to spoil anything!)

Also, the war just kind of… sizzles out. It seems so anti-climatic to me. The first war in centuries, and it just kind of… ends.

This series is really easy to read and is actually pretty exciting. I do enjoy it more than I really expected to. But it isn’t overly Special (hah! See what I did there?) and each book just seems to have a new element thrown in on top of everything else. I don’t know, I guess this series just doesn’t quite do anything for me. But I do like it, so I think I’ll give it 3.5 stars.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

3 comments

Leave a Reply

