Book Review: The Giving Tree

10683499

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein – Hardback, 64 pages – Published December 2nd 2010 by Particular Books

I recently had a go at reading Shel Silverstein’s A Light in the Attic which was lovely (even if I am a little too old for these books now), and now I’ve read his The Giving Tree.

There’s not that much I can say about this book as it is only 60-odd pages, but I did find it super sweet. Even at 16, I kind of enjoyed reading this short, childishly simple book…

It tells the unusual tale of love between a boy and an apple tree while the boy grows up and the tree gives everything she has to keep him happy. I thought it was just so cute!

If you have any young family members, I would definitely recommend reading this book with them. I might have to give this 4 stars…

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

