Book Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty

9861596

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han (Summer #1) – eBook, 288 pages – Published June 3rd 2010 by Penguin

I remember reading most of this book a few years back, but for some reason, I didn’t quite get to the end. This time, I did!

The general storyline is that during one summer down at Cousins Beach, “Belly” finds this slightly different to normal. Mainly because she has grown up and become more attractive. Her age-long crush on Conrad, a brotherly figure who stayed at the summer house with his brother, makes things a little awkward at times. But now Belly is old enough to attend parties and even get a date. Who knew there was already someone interested in her?

During the novel, Belly revisits old memories of herself, her brother, and the two other boys. Her mother is often seen trying to help and comfort Susannah, her best friend, who is repeatedly battling cancer.

It’s a very summery read (obviously!) and is honestly a little immature in my personal opinion. But it’s a nice, easy read, even if it is a little too teen-romancey and overdramatic at times.

I could have read this a lot quicker than I did – most of it went by within the last 24 hours anyway – and I am slightly tempted to check out the sequel(s?) sometime soon. As for a rating, I think 3 stars is fair.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

