Book Review: The Resistance

16149509

The Resistance by Gemma Malley (The Declaration #2) – Paperback, 323 pages – Published November 8th 2012 by Bloomsbury

I read this a few years ago, following the previous novel in the series. I’m looking forward to reading the conclusion to the trilogy, which I have never read!

Again, Anna and Peter are stuck in a world where youth is seen as a sin, as a danger. But Peter, while working for the Underground, has to work for his grandfather at Pincent Pharma – the manufacturers of Longevity. While there, he discovers some shocking information that makes a once straight-forward decision near impossible to make.

This book follows Anna as she cares for her infant brother and tries to help Maria, who is trying to rescue Surpluses. Peter is a massive character in this too, discovering the truth about Longevity and the company’s manufacturing methods. Even Jude, Peter’s half-brother, plays a hugely important role in this novel.

Unexpectedly, Sheila makes a surprise appearance during this book. She brings to light a very important situation within Pincent Pharma.

There are a few little subplots throughout this, and a lot of twists. This does make is exciting, but also makes it harder to see what the main plot is. And I have to say that it was often quite predictable (but that may just be because I read it a few years ago).

I don’t want to include any spoilers, but the events of this book seriously make me wonder how old Anna is. Like, seriously.

I am really looking forward to the next book, even if I am expecting yet more typos and unnecessary commas. This is an interesting series and I like it a lot. I think 3.5 stars for The Resistance.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

