Manga/Graphic Novel Review: 07-Ghost

13573504

07-Ghost Volume #1 by Yuki Amemiya and Yukino Ichihara – Paperback, 200 pages – Published December 6th 2012 by VIZ Media

Honestly, this is the first graphic novel I’ve properly read so I don’t have anything to compare it to. So this review may not be that helpful, and I’m just going to keep it quite short.

I’m not going to lie, I found this pretty confusing. It was a bit all over the place – but I’ve heard it gets better. It starts at the military academy with Teito Klein and Mikage, who are best friends. But then Teito’s repressed memories are jogged when he overhears a secret conversation, forcing him to flee the district. From there, he finds himself in a strange church. The bishops there begin to help him understand the war between two empires, the legend of seven ghosts, and the battle between good and evil.

The art in this is fantastic! I loved the style so much. (It was what really drew me in.) Sometimes it does perhaps seem a little busy and hard to follow, but maybe that’s just because I’m new to it.

The dialogue is great – the jokes and everything really make this a good novel. And the premise is good, too – I intend to read on and hopefully make sense of it all!

I did like it, but I also got lost a fair bit. It was a lot better toward to end, with Mikage’s surprise appearance and all, but I think I can only give this 3 stars.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

One comment

Leave a Reply

