Graphic Novel/Comic Book Review: Hal Jordan & the Green Lantern Corps Volume 1: Sinestro’s Law

pro_reader

Thank you to the author/publisher for accepting my request to read and review this book

This was my first proper insight into the world of the Green Lantern Corps, which maybe meant I wasn’t prepared/up to date with the background information but oh well. (Thankfully my boyfriend is a major comic book nerd and has briefed me on most things.)

34738574

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps Vol. 1: Sinestro’s Law (Hal Jordan & the Green Lantern Corps #1) – eBook (Review Copy) – Published February 14th 2017 by DC Entertainment

After the disappearance of the Green Lantern Corps, leaving just Hal Jordan behind, the universe has been taken under Sinestro’s Corps. Everyone is convinced they’re doing good… But then Sinestro is revived at near-death point and takes over control completely.

Hal is Sinestro’s target, but the rest of the Green Lanterns come back and get in his way. With the power harvested from both the Parallax and fear, Sinestro’s battle with Hal and the Lanterns is brutal.

I wasn’t quite as interested in this one as I was with Batman, even though I love the Green Lanterns. I’m not quite sure why – maybe it’s because I’m not as familiar with the previous events as I’d like to be. Either way, I just didn’t follow the story all that well.

The ending, however… DC do a great job of leaving you in the dark. Hal?! He can’t be dead… right? Cliffhangers!

And as usual, the art is great. Clear colour schemes for the battles of green v. yellow, and tons of action. Not quite as much in terms of character relationships, but some of the characters were so sassy and funny.

I’m only going to give this 3.5 stars though, as it didn’t intrigue me quite as much as the Batman Detective Comics.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

2 comments

Leave a Reply

