Graphic Novel Review: MANGA CLASSICS Great Expectations

pro_reader

Thank you to the author/publisher for accepting my request to read and review this book

I discovered these Manga Classics via NetGalley, and am so glad I did! I’m definitely intent on reading a lot of the collection.

Manga Classics Great Expectations

Manga Classics: Great Expectations by Stacy King and Crystal S. Chan (Originally by Charles Dickens) – eBook (Review Copy), 312 pages – Published May 20th 2015 by UDON Entertainment

I’ve only seen the film of this story, and not even read the original novel. But I am planning to do so, and I really feel like this has given me a better understanding of the plot and the characters.

The story itself, written by Charles Dickens, is pretty good – not my favourite, but not bad. It tells the story of Pip, a little boy who wants nothing more than to be a gentleman. But his humble lifestyle is not particularly accommodating of that wish, until an anonymous benefactor sends him to London…

I think the characters and emotions are portrayed really well through the artwork in this, helping to understand the developments in the plot and relationships that are taking place. The language makes it easier to follow and understand, too, which a lot of people have problems with when reading older novels. For example with Miss Havisham, who’s emotions are somewhat exaggerated to show her grief and frustrations.

If you like classic novels but are maybe uncomfortable with the language or length, then I’d definitely recommend this line of graphic novels. Even as an accompaniment to the original books, just to give that extra insight and understanding.

Simply because this isn’t a favourite story, I’m going to give 4 stars. But the adaptation itself is fantastic.

866A98B32CBD639D32E20CEBF70E4491

2 comments

Leave a Reply

