Manga/Graphic Novel Review: MANGA CLASSICS The Jungle Book

MANGA CLASSICS The Jungle Book

MANGA CLASSICS The Jungle Book (Originally by Rudyard Kipling) by Crystal S. Chan – eBook, 327 pages – Published April 3rd 2017 by UDON Entertainment

The Jungle Book isn’t my favourite book ever, but I like this Manga Classics collection and thought I’d give this one a try, too. This one was quite different from the others I’ve read, containing seven different “books” – three of which made up The Jungle Book story itself. The other tales were of a white seal trying to save his friends from the murderous men, a mongoose protecting his new family from snakes, a young boy who witnessed the dance of the elephants that no man has ever seen before, and finally a man and the parade of animals serving.

Four of these books I had never heard of before, so they were interesting to read. They all contained little poems like those in The Jungle Book, meaning they all fit together well as a collection.

The art was different to what I expected; it often took a comedic, exaggerated look. It wasn’t the best art I’ve seen in a novel like this, but it expressed the story well enough. I did, however, notice a few typos throughout the novel.

pro_reader

Thank you to the author/publisher for accepting my request to read and review this book

Not a bad novel, but I can’t say I’m overly amazed by it. I’d give 2.5 or maybe 3 stars at a push.

Leave a Reply

