Book Review: The Guilty Die Twice

The Guilty Die Twice by Don Hartshorn

Before I say anything else, I just want to thank TCK Publishing for providing me with the opportunity to read and review this novel. It’s not something I’d necessarily pick out on my own, but I am honestly so glad I read this book! Check out the book on Amazon, or take a look at Don Hartshorn’s own website.

The label ‘legal thriller’ may not entice everyone, but I found this to be so much more than just that. Yes, it was about legal proceedings and conviction of a criminal, but it was also about family, making positive changes in the world, and (of course) finding the truth. It begins with a poignant scene where a convicted criminal is given the lethal injection that ends his life. Throughout the course of the book, through flashbacks and conversations, we learn the backstory of this particular event. The importance of Travis’s endeavour in this book is then established.

I want to highlight that this book confronts the death sentence, with Travis pointing out the flaws in such a system. This is something I definitely agree with. In fact, Travis touches on the idea of rehabilitation instead of punishment, which is something I am hoping to work on as a forensic psychologist. So you can see that this book kind of struck a cord with me.

As legal fiction goes, this was certainly not dull or confusing. It was extremely interesting, well written, and actually rather exciting. I will not share too many details of the book in case I ruin it for any future readers, but I will say that there is death, there is deceit, there is drama. What more could you want?

I’ve given this a strong 4.5 stars overall. I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who likes crime books, thrillers, legal fiction, or just a good read in general.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.