Book Review: Contempt

Contempt by Michael Cordell

This is another book that I was extremely lucky to receive a copy of in return for my review. A huge thanks to the author and publisher for providing me with it! If you’re interested in this book, the link to it on Amazon is here. The author’s site is also available here, and the publisher’s website is here.

The novel begins with Thane Banning’s release from prison due to a mistrial. In fact, Thane was facing the death sentence after being accused of murder. Soon after his release, the policeman who arrested Thane is found murdered in his home, and friend of Thane’s and fellow inmate, known as Skunk, is accused. Certain that Skunk isn’t responsible, Thane decides to defend him in court – despite the fact he’s a real estate lawyer, not a legal attorney.

Before long, Thane and his colleagues work to uncover the truth about what happened, including the murder that got Thane imprisoned in the first place. Alongside all this, Thane is trying to repair his relationship with his wife and deal with the constant accusations and unfriendly glares. He’s well aware that people see him as a murderer, even after his release. This makes him even more determined to reveal the truth and clear his own name.

I enjoyed reading this, and didn’t get bored or lost or anything like that. There was enough jargon to make it feel organic, but not so much that I didn’t understand it. There was a lot going on in terms of relationships and side plots, and the ‘detective’ aspect is great.

The only thing I wasn’t sure about is how self-aware Thane is. Don’t get me wrong, it would be great if everyone was able to identify what triggered certain actions and then acknowledge and apologise for them. But I just don’t think it’s realistic. Of course, that’s not a big thing so it wasn’t really an issue, just something I noticed.

Overall, I liked this book. It was well written, it was pretty plausible, and it was interesting. If you’re into any kind of legal fiction or thrillers, or crime and detective novels, I’d definitely recommend it. 3.5 stars!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.